Note 1203 — Chapter XVI · A CENTURY AND A QUARTER OF MARRIAGE LEGISLATION IN THE UNITED STATES, 1776-1903
Reading edition
In Connecticut the fine for such illegal celebration was for a long time just $67: Acts and Laws (1805), 286; Rev. Stat. (1849), 273; but it is now $100: Gen. Stat. (1902), 1086. In Massachusetts the fine is not to exceed $500: Acts and Resolves (1896), 257; earlier it was $50 to $100: Pub. Stat. (1882), 811; in Rhode Island the penalty is $1,000, or not to exceed six months' imprisonment: Gen. Laws (1896), 625; Acts and Resolves of R. I. (1899), 51; in Maine, $100, one-third to the prosecutor and two-thirds to the county: Rev. Stat. (1884), 517; in Vermont, not less than $10: Vermont Stat. (1894), 502; in New Hampshire it is $60, to the parent, master, or guardian of either party, who may prosecute: Pub. Stat. (1891), 494; Gen. Laws (1878), 428.