← Table of contents
A History of Matrimonial Institutions, Vol. 2 of 3

Note 1153 — Chapter XVI · A CENTURY AND A QUARTER OF MARRIAGE LEGISLATION IN THE UNITED STATES, 1776-1903

Reading edition

In Massachusetts the penalty is a fine not exceeding $500, or imprisonment in jail or in the house of correction for a term not exceeding one year, or both: Act of April 22, 1896: Acts and Resolves (1896), 257; in Maine it is $1,000, or not less than five years' imprisonment: Rev. Stat. (1884), 517; in New Hampshire it is not exceeding $300, one-half to the complainant: Pub. Stat. (1891), 494; Gen. Laws (1878), 429; in Vermont, not less than six months' imprisonment or a fine of from $100 to $300; in Connecticut, not to exceed $500, or six months' imprisonment: Gen. Stat. (1887), 348; in Rhode Island the fine is $500: Gen. Laws (1896), 625.

Explore with AITake your curiosity a little further.

Reading settings