← Table of contents
A History of Matrimonial Institutions, Vol. 2 of 3

Note 1376 — Chapter XVI · A CENTURY AND A QUARTER OF MARRIAGE LEGISLATION IN THE UNITED STATES, 1776-1903

Reading edition

In Missouri, failure to keep a record or solemnization without license is a misdemeanor. The transgressor must pay a fine of not exceeding $500, and in addition he is liable to a civil action by the parent or other person to whom "services" are due, to recover not more than $500: Laws (1881), 161; Rev. Stat. (1889), II, 1606; ibid. (1899), I, 1037. In Alabama the fine is $1,000, one-half to the state and one-half to the person suing: Code (1896), I, 829; in North Carolina, solemnization without license or failure to make return is a misdemeanor, subject to a fine of $200, payable to anyone who sues: Code (1883), I, 691, 692; in Kentucky, a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment from one to twelve months, or both: Stat. (1894), 766; in Arkansas, a high misdemeanor and a fine of not less than $100: Digest (1894), 1127; in Tennessee, a misdemeanor and a fine of $500: Code (1896), 1040-41; in Georgia, a fine of $500: Code (1896), II, 223; in Virginia and West Virginia, forfeiture of bond: Code of Va. (1887), 557; Code of W. Va. (1891), 608; in Maryland, a fine of $100 to $500: Laws (1894), 124; in Texas, a misdemeanor and a fine of $50 to $500: Act of June 5, 1900: Gen. Laws, 307. In the District of Columbia for marriage without banns or license each of the parties and the person solemnizing are liable to a fine of 500 pounds current money: Comp. Stat. (1894), 272; Moore, Code, 266.

Explore with AITake your curiosity a little further.

Reading settings