Note 1331 — Chapter XVI · A CENTURY AND A QUARTER OF MARRIAGE LEGISLATION IN THE UNITED STATES, 1776-1903
Reading edition
For example, in Virginia the penalty for marriage within the forbidden degrees is imprisonment not exceeding six months or a fine of not more than $500: Code (1887), 898; in West Virginia, one or both of these penalties: Code (1900), 972; in Georgia, imprisonment in the penitentiary from one to three years: Code (1896), III, 116; in Maryland incest is a felony punishable by one to ten years' imprisonment at the discretion of the court: Code (1888), I, 511; in Missouri the penalty for the same crime is not exceeding seven years in the penitentiary: Rev. Stat. (1889), II, 907; in the District of Columbia, for marriage within the "three degrees of lineal direct consanguinity, or within the first degree of collateral consanguinity," the penalty for each is "five hundred pounds current money ($1333.331⁄3);" and within any of the other forbidden degrees of consanguinity or affinity, it is "two hundred pounds current money ($533.331⁄3)": Comp. Stat. of D. C. (1894), 272.