Note 1291 — Chapter XVI · A CENTURY AND A QUARTER OF MARRIAGE LEGISLATION IN THE UNITED STATES, 1776-1903
Reading edition
In West Virginia the penalty is confinement in jail for not exceeding one year, or a fine of $500, or both: Code (1900), 972; in Virginia it is not exceeding one year in jail and a fine of not more than $500: Code (1887), 899; in Kentucky, not exceeding three years in the penitentiary, and the same penalty for falsely personating father, mother, or guardian: Kentucky Stat. (1894), 766; ibid. (1899), 824.