Note 1438 — Chapter XVI · A CENTURY AND A QUARTER OF MARRIAGE LEGISLATION IN THE UNITED STATES, 1776-1903 (continued 2)
Reading edition
For unauthorized solemnization and the penalty see Rev. Stat. of Idaho (1887), 303, 761: a misdemeanor punished by confinement in the county jail not exceeding six months, or a fine of not more than $300, or both; Laws of Ind. (1897), 129 (March 4); Rev. Stat. (1896), I, sec. 2148: a fine of $50 to $500, to which may be added imprisonment in the county jail for from ten days to three months; Howell, Gen. Stat. of Mich. (1883), II, 1620: a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail of not more than one year, or a fine of $50 to $500, or both; Gen. Stat. of Minn. (1894), I, 1266: a misdemeanor, with not over one year's imprisonment, or a fine of not exceeding $500, or both; Comp. Codes and Stat. of Mont. (1895), 477; Comp. Stat. of Neb. (1899), 757: a misdemeanor, with not more than one year in jail, or a fine not to exceed $500; Comp. Laws of Nev. (1900), 114: a fine of not more than $500, or imprisonment till paid; Codes and Gen. Laws of Ore. (1892), II, 1320-22; I, 967: not more than one year in jail, or a fine of $100 to $500; and the same penalty for illegal solemnization and for illegally issuing a license by the clerk; Rev. Stat. of Utah (1898), 331; Laws (1888), 90: not exceeding three years in the state prison, and the same penalty for false personation of parent or guardian, or for forging a certificate of consent; Ann. Code of Wash. (1897), I, 1175, 1178; Ann. Stat. of Wis. (1889), I, 1356: not exceeding one year in jail, or a fine of not more than $500, and the same for illegal solemnization, making false certificate, or for false personation; Rev. Stat. of Wyo. (1899), 791, 792: a misdemeanor, and the same penalty as in Wisconsin for unauthorized solemnization, which is prescribed also for false certificate or false record by the clerk; Ann. Rev. Stat. of Ohio (1897), II, 3017: imprisonment for six months, or a fine of $500, or both; Laws of N. D. (1890), 278: a misdemeanor with fine of $100 to $500 and costs, or imprisonment in the county jail for from three months to one year.